Minnesota State University, Mankato


 

Vehicle Reservation System

All out-of-state travel must be approved by the President.
Administrative travel will be approved only when required for the operation of the University.




Step 1: Vehicle Choice          

Information

  • Vehicle Consent Form must be completed and processed for the motor vehicle record check prior to driving a state vehicle on state business.
  • If you do not select a vehicle, "sedan" will be your default choice.
  • An email confirmation will be sent to the email address entered or you may click on the Reservation Search link above.
  • Driver's license must be presented to office staff at time of key pick up.

Vehicle Guideline effective July 2008 (PDF)

Motor Vehicle Consent Form


MSU Facilities Services Office only charges a day/half day rate for State vehicles, fuel costs are included into day rate structure.

Fuel purchased for State vehicles is not charged to individual accounts.

Effective Friday, March 6, 2009, automobile coverage for drivers under 21 years of age traveling out of state for Minnesota State University, Mankato has been approved. Automotive Liablity Insurance Memo (PDF)

Half day rate requires the vehicle to return by 1:30 p.m.

  • Full Day rate will take effect if the sedan or minivan is used all day or after 2:00 PM
  • Half Day rate will take effect if the sedan or minivan is returned prior to 1:30 p.m. Large vans will be allowed a half day rate if they are used for 4 hours or less per day
  • Vehicle charges begin when state vehicle is removed from its assigned stall.
  • Do not remove state vehicle from its dedicated parking stall until the actual reserved time.

A large number of our State vehicles are fueled by E-85.

  • Vehicles that are E-85 have logo's affixed on the gas cap door and on the key packs as a reminder for you.
  • These vehicles may use unleaded or E-85 fuel.
  • E-85 Stations in Mankato:
    • Holiday, 1901 Adams Street
    • Kwik Trip; 1271 River Drive (on Hwy 169)
  • E-85 fuel station locator: www.e85refueling.com .

$100/trip “surcharge” per vehicle/per trip for out-of-state travel on state vehicles.

 

 

 


Sedan
Sedan

Full Day: $53.00
Half Day: $32.00

 

    

7 Passenger Mini Van
7 Passenger Mini Van

Full Day: $85.00
Half Day: $51.00

 


 

12 Passenger Van 12 Passenger Van

Full Day: $110.00
Half Day: $66.00

All 12 passenger van drivers must view the "Coaching the Van Driver 2: Defensive Driving Course" video at the Facilties Services, WC358, prior to the trip.

Call 389-5466 to reserve a time to view the video

 

 

 

Cargo Van Cargo Van

Full Day: $55.00
Half Day: $37.00

     


  

http://www.mnscu.edu/board/procedure/519p3g1.html

Subpart C. State-owned Vehicles. Guidelines are listed.

Subpart C. State-owned Vehicles. State-owned, rented or leased vehicles are to be used for official state business only. A driver shall have a valid state driver's license, complete a Vehicle Use Agreement Consent to Obtain Driving Record form, and observe all ordinances and laws pertaining to the operation of motor vehicles, System Guideline 5.19.3.1 Driver's License Record Check, and Consent Form - Vehicle Use Agreement and Consent to Obtain Driving Record(s).

Authorized drivers are:

  • state employees;
  • contractor's employees or independent contractors, if authorization to drive a state vehicle is specifically mentioned in the applicable contract;
  • students who have been given permission by college or university administration;
  • an individual assisting an employee with a disability, if approved by the employee's supervisor; and
  • an individual assisting a student with a disability, if approved by the college or university administration.
  • Only authorized persons are permitted to ride in state vehicles. Personal guests not on state business are not allowed in state vehicles. Authorized persons include:

  • state employees;
  • other persons participating in related state programs;
  • volunteers as provided in System Procedure 4.0.1;
  • an individual assisting an employee with a disability, if approved by the employee's supervisor; and
  • an individual assisting a student with a disability, if approved by the college or university administration.
  •  

    Step 2: Trip Information

    Required fields have astericks

    Leave & Return Dates:

    Leave & Return Times:

    * Leave Date

    * Return Date

    * Leave Time

     * Return Time
    * Driver's MSU Tech ID (8 digits):    

    * Driver (FirstName LastName):

    * Phone:

    * Department:

    Cell Phone:

    * Destination City:

    * Destination State:

    Will this vehicle be taken out of the state? yes

    If Yes, all out-of-state travel must be approved by the President. Administrative travel will be approved only when required for the operation of the University.

    * Purpose: Be specific, ex. Field trip Biol 101, Fin Aid Conference, etc.

    * Account Number:

    Step 3: Driver License and Insurance Info      

    Driver's License #:

    Expiration Date: (mm/yy)

    Insurance Carrier: 

     

     

    *Vehicle Consent Form Completed? yes no

    Student must have an "acceptable" or "conditional driving" status to be allowed to drive a State vehicle.

    Step 4: Minnesota State University, Mankato information

    *Are you a: * student  or * staff
    (If you are a student, you must enter the name of a personal supervisor in the "MSU responsible person box below)

    MSU address:

    * E-mail:  

    MSU responsible person (FirstName LastName):

    Comments:


    Step 5: Create Request
    • Creating this request for a vehicle is just the first step
    • You are strongly urged to verify that your request becomes a "confirmation" before coming to pick up your vehicle keys at Facilities Services, WC358
    • An email confirmation will be sent to the email address entered or select Reservation Search.
    • You must do 1 request for each vehicle needed


    •     

     

    Return to Home Page



     

     

    MSU Home Page>Vehicles Reservation Page

    Last updated: October 8 2010